Board of Directors

Board of Directors 2018

The role of the Board of Directors at CDF is to provide guidance and oversight of operations at the Charles Darwin Research Station, and to act as a liaison to the General Assembly.

Our board members come from a variety of backgrounds and countries, enabling them to provide expertise on a wide range of topics.

Alfredo Carrasco

Alfredo is an international consultant on environmental and social topics. He has experience working in Antarctica, Bolivia, Ecuador, Honduras, Belize and...

Read More

Darrel Schoeling

Darrel is director of expedition development at Lindblad Expeditions in New York.

An entrepreneur, writer and travel executive based in New York,...

Read More

Gabriela Sommerfeld M.B.A.

She studied Finance and Marketing at San Francisco University of Quito, and completed her Master's Degree in Business Administration with an emphasis in...

Read More

Hans van Poelvoorde

CDF President

Hans van Poelvoorde was born in Maastricht, The Netherlands. After obtaining his degree in Mechanical Engineering (MSc) at Eindhoven University he worked...

Read More

Mark Bauman

Mark Bauman is a media and strategic communications executive, who has been recognized with numerous broadcast, web and print journalism honors, including...

Read More

Paul A. Baker

Paul is Professor of Earth and Ocean Sciences at Duke University. He is Chair of the newly founded Andean Sustainable Development Solutions Network (part of...

Read More

Ronnie Stewart

Ronald P. Stewart is the Head of York Preparatory School in New York City. The winner of an open scholarship to Wadham College, Oxford University, Mr....

Read More

William "Bill" Sutherland

Professor for Conservation Biology in Cambridge, Bill has wide interests in conservation biology. He is interested predicting the impacts of environmental...

Read More

Yolanda Kakabadse

Yolanda Kakabadse, Ecuadorian. Former Minister of Environment of Ecuador. She coordinated the participation of civil society organizations in the 1992...

Read More

The ‘Charles Darwin Foundation for the Galapagos Islands’, in French ‘Fondacion Charles Darwin  pour les Iles Galapagos’, Association Internationale sans but lucrative (AISBL), has its registered office at Avenue Louise 54, 1050 Brussels, Belgium. Trade Registry # 0409.359.103

© 2022 Charles Darwin Foundation. All rights reserved.